Easy Meal for Tired Mom’s (or Dad’s)

I am so glad to be back posting recipes and fitness ideas! I have been on vacation at the beach for the past week without internet…Anyway, below is an easy recipe for when life happens. 🙂

Today was one of those days where everything just happened all at once. The may harper toy baskethouse needed cleaning and the baby was screaming. She was opening all the cabinets and removing items by throwing them everywhere, she climbed into her toy basket and threw all the toys out. I attempted an at-home workout (very difficult with my child literally crawling and laying all over me). I prepped meals for my child and we went on a long walk. Needless to say, when it came time for my husband to come home from work and I hadn’t really given much thought to dinner, I didn’t panic! Instead, I went to an old go-to, easy meal that is very delicious!

Rice & Quinoa with sauteed Vegetables and Tofu 

This recipe is very simple and my instant go-to when life happens. Sometimes I cook this recipe twice a week! I did not get a chance to take a picture of this meal, but you can’t mess this one up! It’s so easy! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of whole grain brown rice
  • 1/2 quinoa
  • 1/2 cup of chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup of chopped green pepper
  • 1 cup of organic sliced mushrooms
  • 1 teaspoon of sunflower oil
  • cornstarch
  • 1 container of pressed tofu
  • 2 tablespoons of low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of Earth Balance butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

1. Press the tofu at least 2 hours before cooking. (Tonight I was able to press it 30 minutes before cooking because I have silk tofu which is a lot softer and is easier to press. If you buy firm or extra firm tofu, you need to let it press for at least 2 hours before cooking.)

2. Cut tofu into cubes. Place tofu in a mixing bowl of cornstarch. This allows the tofu to become crispy on the edges. When the tofu is almost crispy, you can choose to add a sauce to the tofu to give it a little extra flavor. For this meal, I added a small amount of low sodium soy sauce to my tofu.

3. Place tofu in a medium size skillet over medium-high heat. Rotate the tofu on each side to get a nice crispy brown color.

4. While the tofu is cooking, boil 2 and a half cups of water. Once the water is boiling, place the rice and quinoa in the pot.

5. Place the chopped onion, pepper, and mushroom in a medium skillet with a teaspoon of sunflower oil. Add salt and pepper to taste. (You can use olive oil if you don’t have sunflower oil. Sunflower oil is what we keep in the pantry.)

6. Once the rice and quinoa is cooked , drain in a strainer, then stir in a teaspoon of Earth Balance butter to give the rice and quinoa a creamy texture.

7. Serve the rice and quinoa under the sauteed vegetables with the crispy tofu on the side. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

