Sweet Potato & Black Bean Quesadillas

Lately I have been obsessed with eating sweet potatoes. They have now become my “something sweet” in the evening. I have recently been baking a large amount at the beginning of the week, then eating them when I get a sweet tooth craving. There are so many things you can do with sweet potatoes! I love making sweet potato fries, chips, mashed potatoes, breads, and adding them to soups. This vegetable is just too good not to try!

Sweet potatoes are considered one of the healthiest vegetables! They are packed with vitamin A and vitamin C, which can help support your immune system, vision, and reproductive system. Let’s face it, most, if not all, veggies will help boost your immune system. They are nature’s own medicine! I haven’t been to the doctor once for a simple cold or sinus infection since changing my lifestyle over to a plant-based diet. I have learned to heal my body from the inside out, as well as prevent any further damage.

When making the transition over to a plant-based diet, I wanted to find ways to be able to eat all of my favorite meals, without feeling like I had to give something up. So I made a list of some of my favorite foods like burgers, burritos, quesadillas, chili, and pasta. Then I decided how I would transform them into more healthier versions without meat and cheese and other animal products. Turned out not to be so difficult! And they taste much better!

Transforming some of my favorite meals was quite enjoyable and therapeutic. I began to actually enjoy cooking! Most of the transforming required me to just remove the meat and dairy from the meal, but then I had to figure out a way to still make the meal taste good or even better. That also turned out to be quite easy! My heavy, red meat burgers became protein-packed, hearty, spicy black bean burgers. My turkey chili became lentil chili. (Lentils can have the same texture as ground turkey/beef if cooked properly) My burritos and quesadillas that used to be loaded with chicken and cheese that weighed me down and had me feeling exhausted, became vibrant veggie-packed sensations! I used to think that for a pasta dish to be excellent it had to have some form of meat and cheese. I was completely wrong. My pasta became a healthy, one of a kind dish! I started to make my own roasted tomato sauce, garlic sauce, and pesto! My dishes have never tasted better!

Which brings me to the whole reason for this post. Sweet Potato Black Bean Quesadillas. Taking out the chicken and cheese, and replacing it with sweet potatoes has been a staple in our house since we made the switch. The beautiful part of being plant-based is that there are so many endless possibilities! If you don’t already love cooking, you will!

Sweet Potato Black Bean Quesadillas with Avocado Cilantro Lime SauceIMG_1930

Ingredients for Quesadillas:

  •  2-3 medium size sweet potatoes
  • 1 can of washed organic black beans
  • 4 whole wheat tortillas
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil
  • handful of kale
  • salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients for Avocado Cilantro Lime Sauce:

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/4 cup of fresh cilantro
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1 tsp of honey
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1 minced garlic clove

Instructions for Quesadillas: 

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Peel and dice the sweet potatoes. Place on a greased cooking pan, using coconut oil, and add a dash of salt. Place in oven for about 15-20 minutes.
  2. Rinse black beans. Set aside.
  3. Wash kale. Set aside.
  4. Once sweet potatoes are cooked thoroughly, place a few on a tortilla and mash with a fork. Keep doing this until you have the amount you desire.
  5. Next, place black beans on tortilla and mash them lightly with a fork. Add kale and a dash of salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Fold tortilla in half. Lightly brush coconut oil on one side of the quesadilla. The side that has the coconut oil on it, place in skillet over medium heat. Lightly brush the other side with coconut oil.
  7. Flip quesadilla with the first side is slightly golden, about 5-7 minutes. Brown the other side.
  8. Spoon the avocado cilantro lime sauce over the top of the quesadilla and enjoy!

Instructions for Sauce:

  1. In a food processor, combine all ingredients and pulse until you have the desired consistency. For a more creamy, thick sauce, use less water. For a more thin sauce, use more water.

 

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato & Black Bean Quesadillas

  1. I totally agree! Cooking has become so much more fun now. Instead of having fewer ingredients to work with as I had originally expected, there are actually so many more interesting and creative ways to cook!
    I love the idea of using sweet potatoes. I’m kind of obsessed with them lately haha 😀
    I’ll definitely be trying this out. Thanks!

    Like

    1. I’ve noticed that once I get comfortable with a new recipe, I can tweek it each time! Cooking actually quite fun now! I get a little aggravated when my husband wants to cook one night! 🙂

      Like

      1. I know what you mean. I can never stick to a recipe…there’s always something new I want to try with it. It’s more fun that way anyways 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

