Vegan Blueberry Banana Bread

Our family of 3 consumes about 4-5 bunches of bananas each week. Sometimes we have a few bananas that don’t make the cut. These are my favorite because that means I get to make banana bread! I love baking banana bread because you can really do whatever you want to the mixture. Sometimes I add peanut butter, apple butter, cacao nibs, zucchini, cacao powder, brown sugar, honey, etc. This time I decided to add blueberries.

Making the transition to going plant-based can pose challenges when you are cooking. Have no fear! I am here to tell you one way to fix that!

When I first made banana bread several months ago, I saw that the recipe called for eggs and regular milk. I knew I could replace regular milk with almond or cashew milk, so that wasn’t a big challenge. But I did not know that I could replace the eggs, so I kept them in the recipe. I tried to convince myself that the eggs didn’t matter. They were supposed to be there. How can you bake without eggs???

After several months of trying new recipes, I have discovered that bananas are a great substitute for eggs. I like using bananas as  my egg-substitute in baking because I really like the taste of bananas and they have that gooey consistency needed to hold everything together. If you are cooking another dish that probably wouldn’t be very delicious with a subtle banana flavor (who knows, maybe it will!), then there are other ways to substitute eggs.

Anyway, I decided to share this easy recipe for my blueberry banana bread. It can be a simple dessert, a sweet snack, or part of your morning breakfast. Enjoy!

*Disclaimer: I tend to be an “eye-ball it” kind of cook when preparing dishes, so if the portions seem off, feel free to adjust as needed! I’ve discovered that the more I cook, the less I need to follow a recipe step-by-step. 

IMG_1971

Ingredients: 

 

  • 4 ripe, slightly brown bananas
  • 1 package of blueberries
  • 2 cups of whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 cup of warm water
  • 3/4 cup of almond or cashew milk
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp of nutmeg

Instructions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease bread pan with coconut oil. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, peel and mash bananas. Pour in almond/cashew milk, vanilla extract, and water. Mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, place flour, sugar, brown sugar, nutmeg, and salt. Mix together. Once mixed, add to banana mixture.
  4. Mix all ingredients until creamy smooth. Add 3/4 package of blueberries to mixture. Set rest of the package aside for topping.
  5. Place mixture in greased bread pan. Add remaining blueberries on top.
  6. Bake in oven at 375 degrees for approximately 1 hour until toothpick comes out clean from the center. (side-note: I start checking my banana bread after 45 minutes with a toothpick.) 
2 thoughts on “Vegan Blueberry Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

